JOURNAL THOSE WORDS

Word lists.  I’ve gone back to these in my journal.  Actually I haven’t journaled in a while, mostly haven’t had the time, but I read the poem The Testing Tree by Stanley Kunitz and got inspired.  The images are so strong.   Here’s an excerpt:

Around the bend

that tried to loop me home

dawdling came natural

across a nettled field

riddled with rabbit-life

where the bees sank sugar-wells

in the trunks of the maples

and a stringy old lilac

more than two stories tall

blazing with mildew

remembered a door in the

long teeth of the woods.

All of it happened slow:

brushing the stickseed off,

wading through jewelweed

strangled by angel’s hair,

spotting the print of the deer and the red fox’s scats.

My word lists are associative; I pick a random topic and jot down everything I can that connects to this topic.  Some of my topics and examples are:  

Underneath Things – fuzzy, deep, dark, dusty, patient, forgotten, alone, stringy, frayed, rough, low, hairy, secret, small, misfit, shadows, honest, sad, watchful, waiting, harbinger

Cat Things – tip-tapping, warm, dancing skin, graceful, gray, patient, watchful, kneading, dusty, hungry, happy, slapping, curious, brave, true, wise

I often see a connection between my lists, which sometimes prompts me to do some explorative writing. 

What about you?  Do you make word lists?  How do you journal?

This entry was posted in Journaling, Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

