The Perfect Day

I’m piggy-backing on a topic one of my friends blogged about – The Perfect Day.

Right now, I have a stuffy nose and a sore throat and my head feels fuzzy, but I want to write about this perfect day.

My Perfect Day:

I would wake up early (I’m an early riser), get a steaming hot cup of coffee (with lots of sugar and cream), and sit.  In the dark or dim, in the cool of a peaceful room, no noise, just sit and sip and let the moment unfold.

Then, after my first cup of coffee, with my second, I would head to my computer (or pen and pad, depending).   Sit down.  In my pjs.  Sip.  Read.  Write.  For however long I want, until I’m done, and every writer knows when they’re done for the day.   And, if I finish early…

Then, a walk (or a jog, depending).  Down the road in front of my house (see the picture at the top of my blog).  Notice the green, smell the deep smells of the country, watch for the pair of geese that honk over the fields, take my time.

Back home.  Breakfast, maybe.  Blueberries and whole wheat toast, or grits (I’m a southern girl), or Frosted Flakes.

Back to the computer.  Check email.  Take care of the non-sociable social networking activities via the internet.

Next, out and about.  I want to give back, do some volunteer work.  Maybe with the elderly, a forgotten people.  To the nursing home.  Read, listen, share, connect.

Nice lunch.  With a book.  Most likely a children’s book, middle grade or young adult.  One that I’ve been longing to read, that’s been on order and it’s finally, finally here, and I can’t believe I’m actually holding it in my hands with its fresh book smell, touching the crisp beautiful pages and flipping to the first chapter, to the first sentence…

Then, a lesson.  French or Spanish? (already know some; want to know more) or piano or guitar? (took piano lessons when I was young from a nine-fingered man so didn’t learn much; played the flute and piccolo in high school)

Home again.  My pets.  Ball-throwing time.  Tucker.  Duke.  Jessie.  Where is TC (That Cat), the barn cat who adopted us? 

To the front porch with DH.  See the sun slowly set.  Listen to the locusts.  Watch the pileated woodpecker and tiny creepers flit around the bird feeders.  Cardinals are fearless.  Pick a rose – Angel Face is perfect.  Sniff the blossoms on my Little Gem magnolia, given to me in memory of my sister who left me too soon.  I miss her.

Dinner.  I might not cook.  (Or I might, depending.)   Something light. 

Make a cup of hot tea.  Write.  Revise.

Take a long, soaking bath.  Read some more.

Snuggle down in my bed, turn out the light.

Thank God for a perfect day.

This entry was posted in Children's Books, Writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Perfect Day

  1. Martha Flynn says:

    I may have to ditto that – it sounds like a gorgeous 24 hours!

    • skvanzandt says:

      Martha, I thought about adding more exciting, adventuresome things, but right now, it’s the end of the school year and I just want (and need) to slow down and unwind. Summertime – a great word.

  2. JT says:

    What a wonderful day! Maybe I’ll become a writer instead of a selling widgets! Your version is so much better than mine and the words are so vivid that I could see you doing all of it. If you want to take violin lessons, yell.

  3. skvanzandt says:

    JT, violin, huh? I could do that. I love that instrument – the music it makes is so fluid and beautiful. I never knew you wanted to learn the violin. I say go for it! This fall would be a great time, right?

Leave a Reply

