Sunday Snippets – Book Talk

I just finished this book and really liked  it.  It is written in verse, about a boy who has lost his beloved dog (from the prequel LOVE THAT DOG) and now has a cat.  You can tell by the title how he feels about this cat, but it doesn’t last long.

Here’s a snippet:

Jack

Room 204—Miss Stretchberry

February 25

Today the fat black cat
up in the tree by the bus stop
dropped a nut on my head
thunk
and when I yelled at it
that fat black cat said
Murr-mee-urrr
in a
nasty
spiteful
way.

I hate that cat.

This is the story of
Jack
words
sounds
silence
teacher
and cat.

I really like Sharon Creech.  One of my all-time favorite books is WALK TWO MOONS.  I enjoyed BLOOMABILITY,  also.   If you haven’t read anything by this author, you should.  Highly recommended!

This entry was posted in Children's Books and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

