A Year of Living Readerly/A Year of Living Writerly

A Year of Living Readerly:

As a reader, one of the most important elements I look for in a story is heart.  Whether the story rings true, makes me feel deeply, asks me to re-examine my life and find a new perspective.  So here is a list of stories I’ve read (or reread) in 2008 that I think have heart:

#1 on my list – I love this book, for its simplicity and its depth.  I’ve read it several times, many this year.

Because of Winn Dixie 

 Others (in no particular order) are:

Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott, Crooked Kind of Perfect by Linda Urban, The Underneath by Kathi Appelt, Skellig by David Almond, Each Little Bird That Sings by Deborah Wiles, True Confessions of a Heartless Girl by Martha Brooks, Olive’s Ocean by Kevin Henkes, A Year Down Yonder by Richard Peck, and A Single Shard and My Name Was Keoko, both by Linda Sue Park.

 

A Year of Living Writerly:

This year, as a writer, I have finished a mg novel and started a new one, attended both SCBWI National Conferences, braved the waters of editorial critiques and survived, written over 50K words, been totally inspired, been abjectly discouraged, felt quite capable, felt quite incapable, received good news, received thoroughly stinky news, and overall, enjoyed being a writer and weaver of words. 

Now I’m making promises to myself about 2009.  Who knows what will happen?  Here’s to a new year! 

What about you?  Which books have touched you this past year?  What have you accomplished as a writer?

This entry was posted in Books/Reviews, Children's Books, Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Year of Living Readerly/A Year of Living Writerly

  1. Hi, Sharon! Along with everyone else in the world, I read Twilight. I was inspired not so much by the writing but by the high concept plot. Teenage vampire love in a high school setting. GEESH! What an idea!

  2. I’ve been enjoying your web site and am wondering how 2009 turned out? Did you finish your revisions? How’s the new MG novel coming along? I can tell you’re a talented writer and that it’s only a matter of time…..blessings for 2010! Kimberly Newton Fusco

    • skvanzandt says:

      Hi Kimberly! I have to tell you that I read Tending to Grace and loved it! Beautiful writing. So lyrical. It’s been an up and down year for me. I have an agent waiting patiently to look at these revisions, so that’s what I’m focusing on right now. I’m pretty sick of looking at this book, though. The rest of everything else is on hold. I wish you the best in the upcoming year, too. (Where did 2009 go?) I’m looking forward to reading your new book – The Wonder of Charlie Anne.

Leave a Reply

